Family Medicine Program Residents Committee


The Ontario College of Family Physicians (OCFP) Committee of Family Medicine Residents of Ontario is comprised of Family Medicine residents who are elected to represent their respective postgraduate Family Medicine programs at the OCFP, as well as resident representation from PAIRO and the CFPC.

The Family Medicine Residents Committee will:

  • Advise the Board on methods to ensure that Residents in Ontario are knowledgeable about the objects, programs and services of the Ontario College and the National College;
  • To plan, oversee and evaluate communication programs for Residents;
  • To act as a liaison between Residents and the Ontario College;
  • To provide a forum for interchanges amongst the Residents in each of Ontario’s Family Medicine programs;
  • To oversee the nomination process for the Community Teacher of the Year Award and to constitute the selection panel for the award; and,

To work with the Ontario College and the Academic Departments of Family Medicine to strengthen the relationship with medical students in each of the medical universities and to promote the discipline of Family Medicine.

The goals of the Committee are:

  • To provide an opportunity for representatives from each postgraduate Family Medicine program in Ontario to share ideas & experiences in efforts to enhance postgraduate training at their respective institutions;
  • To develop innovative approaches to further support resident involvement with OCFP activities, including CME and conferences;
  • To collaborate with medical school Family Medicine Interest Groups (FMIGs) to identify key strategies to promote interest in Family Medicine;
  • To maintain liaison with the OCFP Executive Committee and advocate for the implementation of initiatives proposed by the Residents Committee;
  • To recognize exceptional contributions in Family Medicine. 

The 2012-2013 Guide Book to Residency in Family Medicine

Minutes and Annual Reports

Ongoing Residents Committee Initiatives & Other Useful Information

Resource Page

The 2012-2013 committee members:

University of Toronto
Dr. Rami Shoucri, PGY2 (Committee Chair) 
Dr. Michael Verbora, PGY1

University of Western Ontario
Dr. Vida Omidvar, PGY2               
Dr. Christine Li, PGY1                        

University of Ottawa
Dr. Marie-Eve Bérubé, PGY2
Dr. TBA, PGY1                  

Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Dr. Laith Mahdi, PGY2    
Dr. Katie Calonego, PGY1

Queen’s University
Dr. Jacquelyn Choi, PGY2
Dr. Sarah Blowers, PGY1

McMaster University
Dr. Erin Gallagher, PGY2
Dr. Jennifer Brooks, PGY2
Dr. Maggie Thomson (PAIRO Representative)

Ex Officio
OCFP President