Nominations Now Open: 2019 OCFP Awards

2019 OCFP Awards now open graphic

Access the OCFP Awards portal

Each year, the OCFP awards celebrate family medicine and the vital contributions that Ontario’s family doctors make to their patients, communities and our healthcare system.

For 2019, our Awards program is accepting nominations for the two categories affiliated with the College of Family Physicians of Canada:

  1. Reg L. Perkin Ontario Family Physician of the Year - recognizes an outstanding CFPC family physician member from Ontario who exemplifies what it means to be a family doctor: providing exceptional care to patients and contributing to the health and well-being of their communities. The award is named in honour of Dr. Reg L. Perkin, College of Family Physicians of Canada Executive Director from 1985 to 1996.

  2. Award of Excellence - recognizes an exceptional accomplishment or innovation, achieved within the past 24 months, in a specific area or for a specific project pertaining to the specialty of family medicine.
    Note: for the 2019 Awards, family medicine residents are eligible for nomination in this category. 

We are placing a one-year pause on the specific OCFP Award categories (seven Regional Family Physicians, Resident, Teacher and Family Practice of the Year), in an effort to design and offer a refreshed program in 2020 that better reflects the breadth of innovation in family medicine today, and the diversity of practice within our membership. 

Have an idea on possible new awards categories for the 2020 program?
Please send your suggestions to

More about the 2019 Award categories

Nominated by their colleagues, award recipients exemplify the outstanding skill, knowledge and dedication of family physicians, and the vital work family doctors do every day to help keep Ontarians healthy.

Reg L. Perkin Ontario Family Physician of the Year

This award recognizes an outstanding Ontario family doctor who:

  • Exemplifies the four principles of family medicine:
    • Skilled clinician 
    • Community-based
    • Resource to a defined practice population 
    • Patient-doctor relationship is central 
  • Provides a broad scope of practice
  • Demonstrates leadership in the areas of advocacy, community service, education and/or research 

Awards of Excellence

These awards recognize family doctors (note: in 2019, residents are eligible for nomination in this category) who have demonstrated an exceptional achievement within the past 24 months in one of the following or similar areas of family medicine:  

  • Patient care
  • Community service
  • Hospital or health care institutions 
  • College activities (nationally or through a Chapter) 
  • Teaching
  • Research
  • Other elements of the academic discipline of family medicine 

We look forward to continuing to celebrate achievements in our profession through the Awards of Excellence and Reg L. Perkin Family Physician of the Year Award. Our thanks to all members who shared their perspectives on the OCFP Awards. We will welcome your input as we shape a refreshed 2020 program that further recognizes the diversity of our members’ contributions with their patients, communities and our healthcare system.

Help us recognize the inspiring work of family physicians across our province.

Nominate a Colleague

Submission deadline: Monday April 8th at 11:59 p.m. EST